Getting to know Tim Golding

22 July 2021 Peak Recruitment

Img 1836 S H
​For the first of our newest series Getting to know, let's meet Tim Golding, the Managing Director of Peak Recruitment. Today, we move his Managing Director role aside for a while, and get to know him more about his life outside of work, see what superpower he would pick, and why was he being chased around the UK by a butcher in his previous career.

What was your first job?

First paying job was as a newspaper delivery boy whilst at school, but my first real job was in food retail with Tesco's when I was 16, initially working on the delicatteseen, before training as a butcher and fishmonger, which I was pretty good at! I can't say I particularly enjoyed the job, which mostly revolved around watching the clock for the end of the shift, but I have fond memories of the colleagues - a lot I am still in contact with 25 years later. A few memories that stick out include, accidently selling an out of date lobster to a customer for a dinner party, and being chased around the counter by a slightly deranged Head Butcher. Good times.

Tell us a bit about your career to date and how you got into recruitment.

Graduating in Business Management from Leeds Met University in 2003, I had no idea what I wanted to do, as most people don't, and ended up accepting the first job I was offered which was a role in HR for Siemens Engineering, where I worked for two years. From Siemens, I then joined a recruitment agency in Thailand, eventually establishing an office in the Eastern region of the country, focusing on recruitment to the engineering and manufacturing sectors . Having gone through the subprime crisis in 2008, I always wanted to move away from heavy industry, and having spent close to 10 years with that particular company, I then established Peak, which focuses on two passions of mine - food and recruitment.

If you had to pick a job in the food or agriculture industry, what would it be? And why?

Probably a sales role related to food ingredients to Industrial or QSR businesses. It would be interesting to be involved in the whole commercial cycle for new product developments.

What are your interests outside of work?

My family take up most of my time, but my big passion is music especially rock n roll. I also love watching boxing and supporting the mighty Leeds United.

​Tell us something not many people know about you?

I once had serious ambitions of a career in the music industry as a songwriter. Some of my songs are even on YouTube.

Are you a beer or wine person?

Defintiely beer, and as dry as you can get. Asahi in Thailand and Amstel in the UK. Never really understood wine, unless part of a sauce.

What is your favorite food?

Fish and Chips… from the fish and chip shop of course.

What’s one thing you’re currently trying to make a habit?

Walking in the evenings with my family. Trying to get a good mix of exercise, time with my family with no phones.

If you could choose a superpower, what would it be?

To make life at least twice as long.

What country, apart from your home country, would you like to live in?

Having lived in Thailand for the past 17 years, the only other place I would like to live is Yorkshire in England. Otherwise, I've always like the sound of New Zealand altough haven't visited.

What is the coolest role you've placed?

Managing Director of an ingredients company in Asia, which had full autonomy to plan, build and manage regional sales and manufacturing operations for the region. That was a few years ago, and the growth has been fantastic to watch and help on the people front.

What is your all time favourite movie?

Definitley Jaws. An amazing film and one I can watch over and over again.

What are some of your goals (work or personal) for 2022?

Personal would be to have a brother or sister for our daughter and to actually get to see my family in the UK. Work would be for our Thailand team to continue to grow and to realize their potential as leaders in their field in Asia.

Your life mantra is / Your philosophy on life is / The words you live by are…

Always do your best, and always do what’s right.

Name three things right now you are grateful for.

My Family, Friends and Team

One job I’m recruiting for RIGHT NOW is:

A Regional Director for a bakery ingredients company in China, for the North Asia market. A great opportunity to spearhead the business in China and eventually South East Asia. Please get in touch if you're from a food service management background with experience in China.