Getting to know Chanya Plumejai

03 May 2023 Peak Recruitment

1 C107267 F8768 D7 Ecafcdbac6 Bd3 Aeae1 C3 Afc54dd

​​We catch up with Chanya Plumejai, consultant of Peak Recruitment. Chanya is a specialist in Food and Beverage and Crop Science Industries in our team. Let's see how her path in Food and Agriculture has been paved, and find out a bit more about her life outside of work.

What was your first job?

My first and current job is with Peak Recruitment, currently as an Associate Consultant which covers the recruitment process including searching for talented candidates, interviewing, document preparation, and scheduling client interviews. Since starting last year, I have worked on a variety of positions in Thailand, India, Vietnam, and Singapore. I am very happy with my job, it's a real challenge but I am constantly developing in terms of recruitment, confidence and communication.

Tell us a bit about your career to date and how you got into recruitment.

I graduated with a bachelor's degree in Tropical Agriculture before receiving a scholarship with the AIMs program to study at Ibaraki University in Japan. It was an amazing experiences to learn about agriculture and Japanese culture. I then continued my master's degree in Industrial Animal Nutrition and then received the opportunity to move into recruitment, which has been fantastic to use my knowledge of the industries in.

If you had to pick a job in the food or agriculture industry, what would it be? And why?

I would be a researcher in the agriculture industry because of my educational background in agriculture and animal science fields. There are so many fields to learn in the agriculture industry such as the environment, insect and pest, and nutrition trends. It would be fun!

What are your interests outside of work?

I love both marathon and trail running, and have participated in a half marathon in the Bangsaen Chonburi Marathon and also a 20 Km Ultra-Trail in Chiangmai - these nature routes are great, and especially the local people cheering you on. Embroidery is also one hobby I love, and I am always researching new designs and colors to make!

​Tell us something not many people know about you?

I am interested in adventure activities and exploring nature.

Are you a beer or wine person?

I am a wine person.

What is your favorite food?

My favorites are seafood and Southern Thai food, it has many tastes that we can enjoy with it such as sour, salty, hot, and spicy. Delicious!

What’s one thing you’re currently trying to make a habit?

I am trying to sleep early, and not going on social media late at night. It's hard!

If you could choose a superpower, what would it be?

I would like to have a teleportation power, so I can travel to any beautiful place in the world. Anytime.

What country, apart from your home country, would you like to live in?

I would like to live in the countryside in Japan, with the beautiful weather and without the crowds of Bangkok.

What is the coolest role you've placed?

It would be QA manager for the food ingredients industry in Thailand, which was my highest sale. So far anyway!

What is your all time favorite movie?

I love the American medical dramas like The Good Doctor, and fantasy movies especially Twighlight.

What are some of your goals (work or personal) for 2023?

For work, it would be getting a promotion to advance in my career journey and be more professional.

Your life mantra is / Your philosophy on life is / The words you live by are…

Learn from failure and keep moving forward.

Name three things right now you are grateful for.

Love, My job, and Kind people in my life.

One job I’m recruiting for RIGHT NOW is:

A Research and Development Manager for the multinational food industry.